Lens for cross country photos

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by seannymurrs, Aug 31, 2014.

1. seannymurrs

seannymurrs New to TalkEmount

Aug 31, 2014
    I'm a teacher at a junior high school and recently agreed to help out with the yearbook by taking pictures at cross country meets. I currently have a a6000 and have been using the kit lens that came with my wife's NEX-3n since I bought the body only for the a6000. I'd like to get a new lens but am not sure what would be best for taking photos at meets. I'd like to spend $250 or less if possible. I've been looking at the Wirecutter guide to e-mount lenses and both the budget sigma prime and the Sony portrait lens they recommend look good. I'm pretty new to photography though so am not really sure what about a lens makes it good for sports/action photography. All I know is that when I was using my wife's lens at last weeks meet I pretty much kept it all the way zoomed in the entire time. I can get right up on the sidelines so don't need a huge zoom but also like to keep the photos tight in on the runner I'm focusing on. Would really appreciate any advice.

2. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    Hey - welcome aboard!

What lens came on the 3N? I'm guessing the 18-55 or 16-50 (I'll assume one of these for the rest of this post...)? Honestly I would say either of these is probably your simplest option for what you are looking to do... I use the 16-50 regularly for that type of shooting (I have a friend that does horse trials/eventing).