1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Lens.. 18-200 or 55-210??

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Arno, Oct 4, 2013.

1. Arno

Arno New to TalkEmount

Oct 1, 2013
    Hi guys,

Sure you seen this question before..

Just bought myself the Sony NEX 5R, it came with the 18-55 lens, to replace my old trusty and slow Lumix TZ10..

So in 2 weeks time I'm off to South Africa and looking for a lens with better zoom that what the 18-55 can offer, especially for wild life..

Question then, and you might notice that I'm new to this game, I take that the main difference between the 2 lenses are the ability to take close up pics, ie where I will need the 18-55. But what about the full zoom, ie if I want to take a picture of an animal at a distance, how does the 2 compare??

With the price difference, I'm happy to swap lenses when I want a closeup shots, but what I cant get my head around is the full zoom?

Any help with this will be great

Thx

2. Deadbear77

Deadbear77 TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Sep 14, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    Kevin
    I own the 55/210 and it's a great lens. I bought the 18/200 a couple weeks back and returned it. It was not as sharp as the 210 and really not worth the price difference. Convenience over picture quality was not for me.

I still like to shoot with my adapted minolta 70/210 f4

I find it sharper than the sony, harder to shoot if your not used to manual focus.

The OSS helps greatly at the long end in early morning late evening shoots.

Defiantly the 55/210

Kevin

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Deadbear77

Deadbear77 TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Sep 14, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    Kevin
    Oh and the prices vary

You can find a used 55/210 between 250-300

18/200 600.00 plus.

New 350 and 800 respectfully.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. Arno

Arno New to TalkEmount

Oct 1, 2013
    Excellent, thx guys