1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Showcase Leitz Summicron-R 1:2/50 (1-cam version)

Discussion in 'Adapted Lens Sample Image Showcase' started by Jefenator, Nov 11, 2013.

1. Jefenator

Jefenator TalkEmount Top Veteran

Nov 23, 2012
    Oregon, USA
    Jeff
    I was bad but I'm not sorry. I just scooped up a "bargain" roughed-up early version of the legendary Leica Summicron 50mm lens on eBay. This is easy to spot from later versions because it has a very unusual 44mm filter thread - later versions went to 55mm. (There are apparently some optical differences which I will not discuss here as I am NOT a Leica expert!)

I was afraid of what the color & contrast response might be. This lens is probably older than me (i.e. from the 1960s) so the coatings are a very long way from the current state of the art. So far I'm finding the colors are a bit subdued but agreeable:

10792734633_c8bb926f9c_c.
    Summicron-R 50mm Landscape Trial by Jeff Addicott, on Flickr

Can't take a 'cron out for the first time without doing some sort of wide-open portrait trial.

10792738173_612af00250_c.
    Portrait Trial by Jeff Addicott, on Flickr

It's definitely not a modern lens but it also definitely isn't a slouch. I was surprised at how much fine detail it is capable of rendering, all the way into the corners. It does seem to have some pretty pronounced field curvature which can be a pain in the butt but can also be employed to one's advantage. Flare resistance is better than I was expecting and by f/5.6 there is an almost eerie lack of CA.

10792516916_2445e089e3_c.
    The Uphill Trudge by Jeff Addicott, on Flickr

Here's some 100% samples - pretty impressive to my eyes.

10792635695_1cef05c9b9_c.
    cron-crops by Jeff Addicott, on Flickr