1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Just how bad is my SEL 10-18mm?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by mrwinter, Jul 5, 2013.

1. mrwinter

mrwinter TalkEmount Rookie

May 7, 2013
    I recently took the plunge and ordered the SEL 1018. The Sigma 6-18mm also interesed me, particularly given the price and good reviews, but the SEL1018 won out on weight and usability.

Given all of the reports of poor quality control and de-centering probelems, I decided, rather than just enjoying my new purchase, to give to give it a quick test and check for decentering.

I'm a bit of a novice, but I figured that if I take a picture of some pattern, then invert the camera and take the same picture, then I can directly compare opposite corners.

Sure enough, the bottom left corner is consistenly soft.

My quesion now is, does this softness justify an exchange on warranty?

I mean its obviously a construction fault and a quality issue, but lenses are not delivered with any sort of measureable tollerance values so I find it hard to quantify. Also, what are the chances that the next lens is just as bad or worse?

Samples below. What do some of you experts think?

Right Way.
    SEL1018 on nex-6 18mm f4 iso400 1/500s

Test_3 18mm F4 100% Lower Left Vs. Upper Right.
    Bottom Left corner Vs. Top Right corner (of upside-down image) at 100% crop

Test_3 18mm F4 100% Upper Right Vs. Lower Left.
    Top Right corner Vs. Bottom Left corner (of upside-down image) at 100% crop

(Btw. I zommed in until the % indicator said 100%. Is this a "100% crop" or am I missing something?)

2. Jaf-Photo

Jaf-Photo TalkEmount Veteran

Mar 25, 2013
    That sort of variation is common in consumer grade lenses. Especially wide lenses.

The question is if you can live with it or if it will continue to annoy you. In the latter case you should try to get a replacement. But chances are that the next lens will have some similar issue.