Just got the 5n, my thoughts and sell the 7D?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by NEX5n&Canon5D3owner, May 30, 2012.

1. NEX5n&Canon5D3owner

NEX5n&Canon5D3owner TalkEmount Rookie

May 30, 2012
    I found this website and thought I must join it to join in on the discussion of the NEX camera's.

My background is all DSLR. I started with crop sensor bodies but moved up to full frame. I am now on my second full frame, the Canon 5D mark 3. I also own a Canon 7D. It was always difficult for me to use the Canon 7D indoors because the full frame sensor worked much better and spoiled me with it's low light high ISO performance over the cropped sensor. Yet, now I'm with another crop sensor...

My reason for getting this camera is because I miss a ton of good shots because I never want to lug my Canon 5D around with my L series glass. Even if I just carry one lens and the DSLR it's still a bit heavy to carry around and if it's a day where there are no special shots scheduled to be taken, I just simply don't bring it. This led me to the compact world. I got a Canon 300hs, I never was that satisfied with it. I shoot RAW and that compact would not shoot RAW. I was about to buy a compact that would shoot RAW when I decided on going with the mirror less NEX system instead.

So far I have found it a lot more difficult to shoot in M mode. I do have my custom button selections but I have to hit the down button twice to scroll between shutter and aperture. I'm able to do this much faster on a DSLR so I can imagine when wanting to take a picture of something on the fly with this camera, it may be in P mode. Which is something that never happens with my DSLR. I shoot in M mode exclusively.