1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Just for the record ( a DSLR picture)

Discussion in 'Nature' started by nianys, Jan 24, 2013.

1. nianys

nianys TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    France
    Being NEXless for the moment, the only two cameras left in the house are a Nikon D90 and a Canon S90 (I'm an equal opportunity photographer, obviously...)..
    It'd be very easy to slap a 50ish or close lens on the 90, or even a quality zoom like the Tamron 28-75/1.8 I used with it for years, but everything got sold, save for an older 75-240 plastic zoom that I must have snatched for aout 70€, delivered, on the famous "Le Bon Coin", the French equivalent of Craig's List.
    I did try to squeeze as much decent IQ that I could from the S90, but as awesome as it is for a small sensor compact camera, it really is struggling in the very dim light of my living room. Sure, it does produce usable pictures, but none I'd be too proud or pleased to share.
    So, what could I do ? Errr, I guess you know the answer.
    On the Nikon the slow zoom went, and so did the SB-600 (considering the apertures available, I needed all the help I could get in the light department). And so, I shot THIS

9e16343c63649c15878f15c4f238e866_5b0.jpg

There's defnitely a bit more depth of field than I would have wanted if given the choice, but overall the result is rather pleasing, and the sharpness and detail extremely good IMO for what is now considered an obsolete consumer body, with a consumer grade slow zoom lens. The noise is really well controled at ISO400 even though the image was much darker and pulled back from the jpg file in PP. Icing on the cake, focusing was nearly a breeze on the black dog in his dark corner. The downside : that thing is HUGE !! It's considered like a rather modest sized DLSR but boy, after shooting mirrorless bodies for a year now, it felt really weird in the hand.