1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Showcase Jupiter 12 35mm f2.8 Old LTM Russian Lens (Compared with FE 35mm f2.8!)

Discussion in 'Adapted Lens Sample Image Showcase' started by PotatoBoy, Feb 12, 2015.

1. PotatoBoy

PotatoBoy New to TalkEmount

Feb 12, 2015
    Hey guys, just got my Jupiter 12 from ebay yesterday, old Russian rangefinder lens. I thought it'd be fun to do a comparison between it, and a fairly well regarded modern lens.

Obviously in terms of pure performance its a silly comparison, but I thought people would be interested in how the old lens compares. Especially since it's so cheap, and easy to adapt on the Full Frame A7 series. It's something I haven't seen yet, and think it would have been helpful when i was making the decision to purchase. Hope you guys enjoy!

I'm not an expert in comparisons, but I tried my best to keep things comparable. They're just OOC JPEG files. Click the images to see them fullsize! (you may have to select 'Original' at the bottom right corner of the image):

i-XdWxxF9-L.
    Jupiter 12 35mm f2.8 @ 2.8 1/50th 800 ISO
    i-f7WhSR4-L.
    Sony FE 35mm f2.8 @ 2.8 1/50th 800 ISO

i-mddPHjN-L.
    Jupiter 12 35mm f2.8 @ 2.8 1/100th 800 ISO
    i-FFjp9SV-L.
    Sony FE 35mm f2.8 @ 2.8 1/100th 800 ISO

i-hF2kCr8-L.
    i-Zk8wWDJ-L.

What do you guys think? Although the Sony is much sharper, I think the images from the Jupiter 12 look quite pleasing. Plus its pretty fun to use and about 1/8th the cost of the Sony :p Let me know if you guys have any questions about the lens, i can try my best to answer. I don't think there's as much info about adapting it as there as there is for the Jupiter 8.

• Like Like x 4
  2. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David