Is there more than one SEL1650?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by seannymurrs, Sep 1, 2014.

1. seannymurrs

seannymurrs New to TalkEmount

Aug 31, 2014
    My wife has a NEX-3n that came with a SEL1650 kit lens. Is this the same lens that comes with the a6000 kit? Trying to decide if I should just get the body only for the a6000 and use her kit lens or if the included lens would be an upgrade.

2. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    Also confused - your last post said you already had the A6000?

3. seannymurrs

Aug 31, 2014
    It's a long story and I chose to frame my question in the simplest way to avoid confusion. I purchased the a6000 body only when I thought my wife's 3n had the SEL1855 non power zoom lens. That's what someone told me it had and I didn't think to double check or question them. I'm new to photography so didn't notice when I used the lens last week. Over the weekend I realized hers has the SEL1650. That made me curious if the a6000 kit comes with the identical lens to the one I've been using or if it was a newer version. If it was a newer version I would consider returning my a6000 body and getting the kit.

I figured it was easier to pose the question as if I hadn't already purchased the body as opposed to explaining the entire situation.

P.S. Thanks for answering my question :)

4. José De Bardi

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    LOL - OK. The A6000 + SELP1650 is a nifty combination. I wasn't too sure about it at first, but after a weeks holiday (a cruise, so many day trips wanting to carry a little as possible) I really liked it, compact, fast AF, and a very usable wide-tele range for everyday. Per your other post, it would be nice if it was a little longer, but again, per my post in your other post your stuck with a decent bill for the SELP18105G to achieve all the SELP1650 does but a bit longer :)