• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

Is there a way to check the number of activations?

davect01

Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
8,420
Location
Fountain Hills, AZ
Real Name
Dave
Actually one of the screens, (flick through the various screen options), shows a ticker on the upper left hand side.
 

lenshoarder

TalkEmount Veteran
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
301
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #4
Actually one of the screens, (flick through the various screen options), shows a ticker on the upper left hand side.
I tried looking through every screen I could, no ticker found. Which screen is it on?
 

Nubster

TalkEmount Veteran
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
481
Location
West Virginia, USA
Real Name
Chad
Old thread but there are exif readers that can tell you from the data off a photo taken with your camera. I would assume that could be done with files from an NEX. I know it works with my DSLR.
 

nianys

TalkEmount All-Pro
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
1,558
Location
France
Searched this answer on many boards, and AFAIK, there is no way to tell.
 

Jefenator

TalkEmount Top Veteran
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
914
Location
Oregon, USA
Real Name
Jeff
I think the image file title gives a decent ballpark hint - unless you've somehow reset that, or you use panorama mode a lot.
 

dbmiller

TalkEmount All-Pro
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
1,069
Location
New England
No published way that I know of.

I think the image file title gives a decent ballpark hint - unless you've somehow reset that, or you use panorama mode a lot.
Or you use new folder per date setting, where it always starts the file number over for each folder.
 

nianys

TalkEmount All-Pro
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
1,558
Location
France
When I first got my 7 I loaded it with a card formatted in my 6. It's been following the 6's fiel sequence ever since. I have NO way to tell how many actuations the 7 had when I bought it.
 

nianys

TalkEmount All-Pro
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
1,558
Location
France
Maybe this whole actuation thing is a bit overrated. Anyone ever had a broken shutter?
Oh I totally agree with you on this one !! Yes some shutter mechanisms do die on SLRs, but on a mirrorless camera I've never heard of it ??
The one thing is that, for someone selling a lot of cameras, like me, some buyers are paranoid about shutter count...
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
4,024
Location
The Netherlands
Oh I totally agree with you on this one !! Yes some shutter mechanisms do die on SLRs, but on a mirrorless camera I've never heard of it ??
The one thing is that, for someone selling a lot of cameras, like me, some buyers are paranoid about shutter count...
Indeed, I've had the same experience. Some buyers freak out already when they see a shutter count over 1000. :confused: So I consider it a good thing that you can't find a shutter count on the NEX cameras!
 

Nubster

TalkEmount Veteran
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
481
Location
West Virginia, USA
Real Name
Chad
I don't really worry about it either on my own camera...but I guess it's nice to know when buying used like say, from a pro that is retiring a body that might be at 100K clicks or more. By knowing that, you can be aware that it might go bad on you at some point in the not so distant future. That's not to say a camera can't fail with a low count too. Also, some people won't buy unless you know and can show them. Of course, sounds like that won't/can't be the case with these cameras since you can't really find out.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
4,024
Location
The Netherlands
Download exiftool from Phil Harvey's site (free) and run the following command (in a Windows command box; can't help Mac users):
Code:
exiftool -ImageCount C:\Temp\20140305-177.arw
   ---            


Replace C:\Temp\20140305.arw by the path for the file you want to investigate. Apparently my A7 has had 3694 shutter actuations (assuming that that's close to image count).
 

davect01

Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
8,420
Location
Fountain Hills, AZ
Real Name
Dave
Do these program count images or shutter snaps?

If you use HDR, the twilight modes, or paronama you get multiple snaps per image.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
4,024
Location
The Netherlands
I used HDR on my A7. Have to remember to set it back to raw! :eek_old: I hear the camera making 3 exposures, and each HDR sequence delivers 2 images, and the image count goes up by 3 on each HDR shot. So it appears the exif value is the count of the number of exposures, not final images. There is no difference between electronic front curtain or not, so the counter is not really counting the work the shutter has to do.
 
Top Bottom