1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Showcase Industar 61 L/D lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lens Sample Image Showcase' started by -et-, Mar 5, 2013.

1. -et-

-et- TalkEmount Veteran

Jan 26, 2013
    Southern California
    Tom
    Here are images taken yesterday using a Russian Industar 61 L/D lens on my NEX-6. This is a 55mm f:2.8 rangefinder lens that I have had for many years, although I have to admit that I have not used it since I started shooting digital and my use of film dropped to a fraction of the previous value. It produced surprisingly sharp images on film when used on the FED camera with which it was purchased - and also when used on the Leica of a friend - so I decided to try it out on the NEX.

The first image is a portrait mode shot of some of the playground equipment on which my 4 year-old grandson was playing for several hours yesterday. The second image is a landscape mode shot of him arriving at the bottom of the slide, with the image cropped from a 2x3 ratio to a 4x5 ratio to get better composition. The third image is a cropped 100% blow-up (pixel peeping) of part of the second image.

FWIW, the "L/D" in the lens name supposedly reflects the use of low dispersion glass in this version of the Industar 61 lens.

Aiden_3 March-1.

Aiden_3 March-2.

Aiden_3 March-3.

- Tom -

• Like Like x 1
  2. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    I think that I am getting one of these some day. It makes quite a small package with nex and performance is quite good.

They used lanthanium to make low dispersion glass those days.

3. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    Some of these old Russian lenses can really take a nice pic. Freddy has a Industar 69 (28mm) that seems to work pretty well. Dioptrick has a 61 I think & seems happy with it.

4. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David