1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

I'm unsure about the a7s!

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by Gensnap, Nov 8, 2014.

1. Gensnap

Gensnap New to TalkEmount

Nov 8, 2014
    I am a stills photographer in film and TV and have for years used what is known as a 'blimp'... a camera silencer, so I can shoot stills during audio recording without the sound recordists shouting at me. Now, I've used all the Canons and Nikon through to the D4 and the canon 5D Mark III. I tested out the a7s in the store today and I'm just not sure. I've had mixed impressions from the files. I initially processed the raw files in the new Capture One 8 and was not impressed, at least at the high ISO's, then I tried Lightroom, which was quite a bit better. On my Canon 5D Capture one wins, clearly. I have to say that Cap One was better with the a7s low ISO pictures.
    Has anyone experienced this processing phenomena, and can you give me any confidence that this camera can cut it? On paper it's pretty perfect for me. Good at high ISO and silent shutter, but I'm just not quite convinced. Below the two processed files. Shot at 25600 ISO. default processing for both engines. Capture One is on top, lightroom below. They are cropped from a much larger image.

Attached Files:

2. serhan

serhan TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 27, 2011
    NYC
    It is the first time today I am checking the capture one as I am editing some older RX1 vacation photos and noticed the same thing eg very nice low ISO and it needs more work at higher ISO eg you need to change the luminance, detail, etc in noise reduction. I am more interested to see what I can get color wise from Capture one vs LR. I am sure you can get a similar output if you change the parameters or maybe LR is easier to use for higher ISO's. I use ISO 12600 with A7R and LR is good with that... I only processed a couple images with capture one.

3. dannat

dannat TalkEmount Regular

Jun 22, 2014
    VIC