• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

iAuto + picture effects in RAW? (Nex6)

Riquez

New to TalkEmount
Hi there,

I have been using a C3 for the past 2 years, picked up NEX-6 today.
Many of the menu's are different from the C3, which is fine, & after a day of practice I pretty much have the grasp of it.

Right now the only thing which has me confused is that on the C3 in iAuto Mode you can select 'picture effects' & shoot HC B&W, or Toy etc - EVEN IF you are shooting in RAW or RAW+jpg - the camera simply saves a JPG instead of RAW.

Has this ability been removed for the 6?
I hope you can help with an answer for me.

Just to be clear:
• iAuto, Shooting RAW, select HC B&W & the camera saves a JPG.

(ps: I posted this on dpreview, but everyone there is so busy discussing A7r news they don't have time for actual NEX questions!)

WoodWorks

Super Moderator
Real Name
David
Sorry, Riquez, can't help you. I've never used iAuto, nor any of the effects built into the NEX-6.

But I'm a little unclear on your question: are you trying to shoot raw +jpeg and the effects aren't being saved in the resulting jpeg? Or you're not getting a raw file in addition to the jpeg, or the effects aren't being saved in the raw file (which is normal)? I know you said: "just to be clear," but it's not all that clear to me. Can you rephrase your question for those of us slow on the uptake? :p

In any case, welcome to the forum! There may be some jpeg shooters here who can answer your question.

Riquez

New to TalkEmount
No problem.

What I mean is:
a) I set the camera to shoot [RAW] or [RAW+JPG]
b) I turn the mode dial to iAuto
c) The rear navi wheel has the icon for 'picture effects' on the down key - I cannot press this button, it says "cannot do in raw/rawjpg". I simply cannot select this option at all, unless i set the camera to JPG only.