How do you organize your photos in Lightroom?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Jazzer, Apr 4, 2015.

1. Jazzer

Jazzer TalkEmount Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    New York
    Larry
    I switched over to Lightroom several months ago from Aperture and iPhoto. I have watched some videos on photo organization, but it seems that most of them assume people are pro photographers or shooting large events with thousands of pictures that have to be culled, processed and given to clients.

I am a more casual photographer, and while there are times I take tons of pictures (like if I go away on vacation), other times its a few shots here one day and a few there.

I was wondering how those of you that are more casual/amateur photographers organize your photos in folders and collections. I was wondering why collections are even necessary if I set up a general folder structure using something other than dates.

I am at a point where I want to move my old photos from iPhoto and Aperture into Lightroom and I would like to set up something that works going forward because things can become a mess quickly if I don't follow a consistent structure.

I know what works for one person may not for another, but I would appreciate hearing about your systems for organization in the hopes that it might give me some good ideas.

Thanks.

2. roundball

roundball TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Oct 8, 2013
    USA
    Personal choice is I don't use Lightroom to store my photos for a couple reasons:
    1) I already had a significant, fine tuned photo file structure evolved using Microsoft Windows which I already had on my PC...I just import a photo into LR, then export it back to where it came from. Lightroom could go away tomorrow and it wouldn't affect my structure whatsoever.