1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

How did you compose with not tiltable screen?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by alaios, Jul 5, 2013.

1. alaios

alaios TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 11, 2013
    Düsseldorf
    Alex
    Hi,
    I am quite new in photography, I have selected before christmas the nex-f3 body as it was very good on low light performance, compared to other cameras at this price range. Plus it also had an embedded flash, accessory part and more important a screen that goes 180 degrees up.
    That I thought was important as I could compose self portraits with wife. We have got some very good self portraits with the self kit lens wide open at 18mm.
    I do not regret my selection as self portraits make some very nice to remember shots. I was wondering though how you are doing your self portraits, I know there are pods, monopods good for doing the self portraits... but how do you compose your shot? It is very hard to find these days screens that can be tilted so to allow self portraits.

I guess there might be a way to do that, otherwise it might be too bad to go for very expensive model like nex-7 and loose that feature.

Thanks
    Alex

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    There's always using a mirror. Shoot chest up shots and keep the camera low. Or you can put the camera in front of the mirror (facing away from the mirror) and use the mirror to place yourself in the frame.

3. ChangshaNotes

ChangshaNotes Super Moderator

Aug 15, 2012
    China
    Colin
    If you use a tripod it's actually easier with two people. Just set it up with your wife, allow for any height differential and use a remote or the 10 sec timer.