Hello

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by Andy Clement, Feb 9, 2018.

1. Andy Clement

Andy Clement TalkEmount Regular Subscribing Member

Feb 1, 2018
    Hi, I'm Andy. New here..

I'm a new owner of the Sony A7 Mark II. Arrived this past Wed.

I've been taking pictures practically daily since 2007. My first digital camera was a Kodak point and shoot. Next was a Canon PowerShot SX100IS (oh how I lusted after the Canon S5is at the time though). Soon after, I graduated to a bigger camera, the Canon XTi. Christmas present to myself. A few years later I purchased the Canon 5DMII. Another present to myself. Loved my full frame. Eventually, toting a camera that size every day was just not fun anymore. It was big, heavy and the lenses were even heavier (owned the 17-40 f4, 24-70, 70-200, 50, and the not so heavy 40mm which was a joy). My interest in photography never waned but the daily carrying of that heavy camera did. I didn't shoot nearly as often as I had.

Sometime during 2013, I decided that I needed something smaller. The Sony A7 was being announced as well as the Olympus OM-D E-M1. I sold all my canon gear and purchased the E-M1 along with the 12-40mm 2.8 pro. The A7 just didn't have all the bells and whistles of the E-M1 and that A7 shutter was just too loud (the wife is an orchestra teacher and I sometimes photograph her concerts and there is also the IBIS). I really do like shooting the smaller format but gear acquisition syndrome got the best of me.

I was saving up for the EM-1M2 but it just never got down to a resonable price. The new Olympus pro primes were so very tempting (17mm 1.2, 25mm 1.2 (and not as much, the 45 1.2)). The Olympus 40-150mm 2.8 Pro was something I've lusted for as well. The cash I've saved up almost amounts to any one of these options and I've been hemming and hawing about what to buy for months now. When the A7M2 kit went on sale this past Sunday, I jumped and I couldn't be more happier.