Hello everybody

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by CJScott, Sep 1, 2015.

1. CJScott

CJScott TalkEmount Regular

Jul 15, 2015
    Clarkston, MI
    Carlos Scott
    Hi, my name is Carlos. I am new to photography, though I have always been interested in the subject, particularly the intersection of art and science, form and function. New hobbies are my hobby according to my girlfriend, but when I find something I like, I jump in all the way.
    My current system was bought on impulse. Secondipity had the a5100 body and the two kit lenses for $400 refurbished. I could not pass it up.
    After getting a couple of native primes, I discovered adapted vintage/legacy lenses. When I bought the camera, I had no idea what focus peaking was, or how easy it is to adapt old lenses. Since I am so new, I also do not know what kind of photography I would like to pursue. Vintage adapted lenses have afforded me the ability to try different aspects of photography without breaking the bank and incur the wrath of the girlfriend.
    In retrospect, I half regret getting the a5100 over the a6000 since secondipity also had the a6000 body only for the same price as the kit I bought. Overall, however, I am very content with the a5100.

• Like Like x 2
  2. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
    Enjoy and welcome.

Resale prices are pretty solid if you desire to change to the A6000.

3. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    Welcome from me too and have fun ;)

4. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David
    Yes, welcome Carlos. And don't worry about having "settled" for the A5100. If you're anything like most of us here, you'll be pulling out your wallet to buy the next camera body soon enough. :laugh:

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. CJScott

Jul 15, 2015
    Clarkston, MI
    Carlos Scott