Hello all!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by RalllyFan, Dec 7, 2012.

1. RalllyFan

RalllyFan TalkEmount Regular

Dec 2, 2012
    Well, I've been hanging around here for about 3 months now, so I figured it was about time to say hello. As a little background, I've been a photography hobbyist for about 25 years now, shooting with a Nikon FM2n film camera for the majority of that, till I switched over to a Nikon D200 around 6 years ago. I've never considered myself to be a stellar photographer, I just enjoy taking the time to immerse myself into a location and taking some photos that help me remember that time, place and feeling. The last year or so, I found myself becoming more reluctant to carry a dSLR everywhere. No matter how good the neck strap is, my neck just kept getting more and more tired. I read lots of reviews, including several here, and finally sprung for a NEX-5n when they went on clearance back in late September. I was skeptical at first, but I have to say that I'm really enjoying photography again!

As far as the camera goes, there are enough intelligent reviews on this site, so you don't really need my two cents there. I will say that the 2 things I really miss are a viewfinder and the ease of operation a SLR provides. I can live with them, but I do admit to gazing at the NEX-6, NEX-7, and...gasp...the Fuji XE-1. However, I'm going to be good and stick with this for a while. I have the feeling that a full frame mirrorless is on the horizon, and I want in.