1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Got my Minolta 50 1.7...like it a lot

Discussion in 'Portrait' started by ubodepaode, Feb 11, 2013.

1. ubodepaode

ubodepaode TalkEmount Rookie

Feb 5, 2013
    Chicago
    This is my first time playing with a legacy manual lens. I like it a lot, especially for the money spent, but I am now also curious what the 1.4, and others might produce.

I know this one was taken at F2.8 as there are no stops between 1.7 and there.

8465337303_971b53c7f8_c.
    Untitled by petar.antonic, on Flickr

Attached Files:

2. nianys

nianys TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    France
    Beautiful picture and a tribute to this great lens !

3. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    Peter, welcome to the world of legacy lenses. It's all downhill from here. One leads to two, two leads to four… :dance3:

4. Nubster

Nubster TalkEmount Veteran

Jan 5, 2013
    West Virginia, USA
    Chad
    Yup, I agree. I started with the 50 f/1.4, now I have a PEN f/1.8 and I'm bidding on a MD 24mm f/2.8. After that my sights are on a 135mm f/2.8...and the list goes on...I need to get a bigger camera bag me thinks.

5. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    Welcome from me too!!!

That's exactly how I felt with my 1st legacy MF lens (and it was also an MD 50 f/1.7)
    https://www.talkemount.com/f12/im-love-1894/

^^This is exactly how it is :D (ask me how I know :p)

6. kaptnkain

kaptnkain TalkEmount Regular

Feb 4, 2013
    Ilya
    Wow, that's sharp!

7. dixeyk

dixeyk TalkEmount All-Pro

Jun 18, 2012
    Bellingham . WA
    Kevin
    Welcome, and you better make room on the shelf. I guarantee that won' be your last legacy lens (or Minolta). :biggrin:

8. ubodepaode

ubodepaode TalkEmount Rookie

Feb 5, 2013
    Chicago