1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Go on a Safari - which lenses?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by ArnoNym, May 16, 2016.

1. ArnoNym

ArnoNym New to TalkEmount

May 16, 2016
    Hi folks i am new to that forum and i need help ;-)

I go on a Safari (Tansania) I am not sure which lenses i should take with me.

I wanna use my A7ii and my A6000

my lenses are:

Sigma MC11 Adapter + Sigma 150-600m Contempoary
    24-240mm FE
    Zeiss Batis 85mm F 1,8
    Sony/Zeiss 35mm F 1,4 FE
    Voigtländer 15mm Heliar - E-Mount
    Samyang 50mm F 1.2 - E-Mount APS-C Size

Which shall i take. Especially which primes?

I think the Sigmatele lens is in any case in my bag aslike the the 15mm Voigtländer...

What else? Any suggestions?

Thx

2. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David
    It's been more than 20 years since I went on Safari (Tanzania and Kenya), but I can't remember a single instance where I would have used any of the primes in your list. OK, maybe the 15mm for some awesome sunset landscapes. But if I were packing, I'd take the Sigma and the 24-240 and call it good. There may be one or two times where the 35, 50, or 85 would work better than the 24-240. But do you really want to haul around all that weight, and risk damage and/or loss of those lenses for those one or two times?

Oh, and welcome to the forum!

3. roundball

roundball TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Oct 8, 2013
    USA
    No personal experience with a safari in that locale, but my sense is that most shots in such a setting would be long distance.
    Assuming that's correct, on such a rare trip I'd take 2 bodies and 2 lenses for backup in the event of a hardware failure.
    You're taking 2 bodies so from your list, the lenses "I" would take would be:
    150-600m and 24-240mm FE.

4. WNG

WNG TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 12, 2014
    Arrid Zone-A, USA
    Will
    Welcome! Sounds like a nice adventure ahead of you!