G'day from down under!!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by Phoenix, Aug 25, 2011.

1. Phoenix

Phoenix TalkEmount Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Melbourne, Australia
    Phoenix Gonzales
    Hi my name is Phoenix, I'm from Melbourne, Australia (when you think of Australia and imagine beautiful beaches and nice sunny landscapes....that is NOT where I'm from :p) Melbourne is in the the southern part of the country where it's usually cold and the weather unpredictable. But what we lack in sunny weather and warm conditions we make up for the amount of classic Victorian-era architecture, artistic sculptures, museums, lazy cafe's (we love our coffee), and gardens (We are known in Australia as the Garden State)

I am just getting back into photography after more than decade in hiatus. I used to be a avid photographer back in the days where almost everyone was still shooting film and shooting digital meant using an SLR with a digital back that told you how much film you had left and what your current camera settings are.

A year ago, a friend of mine coaxed me into resurrecting my interest in photography after 14 years of being "underground". Needless to say after seeing current dslr models with it's massive size, buttons, bells and whistles I got somewhat imtimidated (The last camera I used was a 1980 Nikon F2 T) So I've decided to skip the dslr scene and just get a rangefinder for something more simple and more "old school" since I'm not really getting back into photography (meh...yeah...riiiight....we all know how that turns out)