Flash Bounce Cards for the A6000, NEX-6 and NEX-7

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by ferrellmc, Jul 30, 2014.

1. ferrellmc

ferrellmc New to TalkEmount

Jul 30, 2014
    Maryland
    I started shooting with the NEX-7 then the A6000 and found I loved the pop-up flash. The ability to rotate the flash backward makes it a great tool for adding diversity to lighting the subject. My only issue, it’s a bit limiting to use the EVF and try to hold the flash pointed up while pressing the shutter. I also wanted more consistency in the angle of the bounce when shooting a couple of images at a time.

I decided to make some flash bounce cards for the A6000, NEX-6 and NEX-7. I made a clear card and white translucent card and found the flash could light the subject with a soft light and bounce a portion of the light. With a GN=6 for the flash output, as long as I keep the subject and bounce surface within about 6 feet, the Auto ISO doesn’t go much higher than a stop.
    DSC04966_950.

The white card captures some of the flash and acts as fill light with a portion being bounced. The clear card bounces most of the light. I made them so the flash can be moved to the forward position without removing the card.

If you want more info on the bounce cards and where to get them:

http://beforethecoffee.com/bounce-cards-for-the-pop-up-flash-sony-a6000-nex-6-nex-7/

A6000flshbounce_950.

Disclaimer: this post lists an item for sale, so it was presented in advance to the Admins for acceptance.

• Like Like x 12
  2. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    Email on it's way!! I too find holding the flash back a bit annoying... I am in the UK but I have a friend in Maryland who you can ship them too and I'll get them from him when I am stateside in October if it makes the shipping significantly cheaper...

3. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
  4. ferrellmc

Jul 30, 2014
    Maryland