1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

First Portrait Shoot

Discussion in 'Portrait' started by fractal, Oct 28, 2015.

1. fractal

fractal TalkEmount All-Pro

Jun 17, 2014
    Southeastern PA
    Chris
    I was asked by my Brother-in-law if I would consider doing my nephew's senior portraits. My Brother-in-law is much handier than I am and considering that I owe him for the several odd jobs he's helped me with I could not refuse.

I was a bit nervous however so I studied up on portrait photography, natural lighting ( we were going to be outside ) and poses. I scouted an area (which I was already familiar with) the week before the shoot for portrait possibilities. The big day came and I met my nephew and his mother (my SIL) later in the afternoon at the nearby park I scouted. My SIL served as my assistant and she did a great job with the reflectors I brought along. It was an overcast day which had it's pluses and minuses.

Here are my favorite shots. I was generally happy with the results considering it was my first time. Looking back there are a number of things I would change or do differently - it was a great learning experience. My BIL, SIL and most importantly my Nephew loved the shots. Comments and constructive criticism are welcome.

I used my NEX-7 and the following lenese; Olympus 100mm 2.8, Sony SEL 50mm 1.8, Sony Zeiss 24mm 1.8, and the Minolta Maxxum 200mm 2.8 and Minolta 50mm 1.4. The SEL 50mm produced the most "keepers".

DSC00006-XL.

DSC00073-XL.

DSC00075-X2.

DSC00084-X2.

DSC00202-X2.

DSC00284-X2.

DSC00288-X2.

DSC00299-XL.

DSC00304-X2.

DSC00320-X2.

DSC00345-X2.

DSC00432-X2.

DSC09975-XL.

DSC09989-XL.

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 10
  2. Hawkman

Hawkman TalkEmount Top Veteran

Sep 10, 2013
    Virginia, USA
    Steve
    I'd be very nervous about doing "real" portraits for anyone at the moment. As such, I admire your willingness to take on such a family request.