1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

First full frame digital, and it's a....Sony A7ii!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by bargainguy, Jun 29, 2016.

1. bargainguy

bargainguy TalkEmount Regular

Jun 29, 2016
    Hello, everyone. What a strange route I took to my new-to-me A7ii.

I started shooting back in the days of film, on a Canon EF camera (that thing could drive tent spikes). I was enamored of electronically timed shutter speeds that went out to 30 sec. Not too many cameras in those days could do that. My first lens was a Sun 28-90 zoom. Actually a decent performer for the early 80's.

Then after shooting Canon for couple years, made the switch to Nikon. FE, then an FM, then about two dozen more bodies over the years, both film and digital.

Shortly after my switch to Nikon, started doing photojournalism on the side. Then a little commercial, studio, public relations...you name it.

Then a couple years ago, made the switch to MFT. Olympus, then Panasonic, and a bunch more bodies and lenses. That got me hooked on EVFs and immediate image display in the viewfinder.

Suddenly, my Nikon optical viewfinders were not as attractive as they once were. I have a boatload of Nikon lenses, MF and AF, and I thought - if I want to go FF, Nikon doesn't have a mirrorless FF option (yet) - might as well try Sony!

So just a couple days ago, my first FF appeared, a used A7ii + 55/1.8 FE. Oh my goodness. This combo just blows the pants off any Nikon DSLR/glass combo I've used. Avatar is a shot from yesterday, cropped to square format.

Thanks for reading this odd journey. Look forward to getting to know all of you here.

• Like Like x 5
  2. WNG

WNG TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 12, 2014
    Arrid Zone-A, USA
    Will
    Welcome to the forum and Sony mirrorless, Don.
    I think you're going to enjoy your A7ii, and the 55 is considered the best standard prime in the market.