Explain the Different Models

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by photoheron, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. photoheron

    photoheron TalkEmount Rookie

    Jun 27, 2013
    Fort Smith Arkansas
    While looking at the Nex line-up of cameras it gets confusing with all the model offerings. I assume that the Nex-7 is the top of the line, followed by the Nex-6. After that is where the confusion starts, what are the differences between the 5R and the 5N? What follows after those models. What is considered a mid-range Nex model?
  2. NickCyprus

    NickCyprus Super Moderator

    Oct 11, 2012
    The 5 used to be the top of the line until the 7 and 6 came...

    Now the 5 series are consider mid-range IMO since they don't have built-in EVF and flash
    5R was wifi unlike 5N, and the new 16mp sensor with the Phase Detection and more focus points (instead of Contrast Detection only)
  3. Poki

    Poki TalkEmount Hall of Famer

    Aug 30, 2011
    NEX-3 series: entry level, plastic body, 16 MP sensor, one dial
    NEX-5 series: mid level, mag alloy body, 16 MP sensor, WiFi (since 5R), touchscreen (since 5N), two dials
    NEX-6 series: mid level, mag alloy body with plastic parts, 16 MP sensor, WiFi, EVF, hot shoe (ISO), two dials
    NEX-7 series: high end, better quality mag alloy body, 24 MP sensor, EVF, hot shoe (iISO), Tri-navi

    Notes: The 16 MP sensor is used since the second generation NEX cameras. The original 3 and 5 used a 14 MP sensor. PDAF is supported by the NEX-5R and 6. Only the 5N and 5R feature a touchscreen. All feature a built in flash except the 5 series and the original 3.