Do you convert to DNG in Lightroom?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Bill, Mar 3, 2014.

1. Bill

Bill TalkEmount Veteran

Oct 22, 2012
    Brisbane, Australia
    Bill
    For Lightroom users. I'm curious to know how many of us convert to DNG and how many stick with the proprietary RAW file format?

2. Tabibito

Tabibito TalkEmount Regular

Apr 1, 2013
    I do. Because it allows me to open the file in another software for previewing. There are more softwares available that are able to open dng file than arw file. Another reason is dng is more future-proof (at least based on what i read somewhere).

Sent from my LG-E440 using TalkEmount mobile app

3. izTheViz

izTheViz TalkEmount Top Veteran

May 10, 2013
    Paris
    Yannis Marigo
  4. WestOkid

WestOkid TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 25, 2014
    New Jersey, USA
    Gary
    I still use raw. I am new to this game so I am a bit cautious. The thing that has stopped me from making the move is for someone to clearly articulate what's lost when converting to DNG. DNG files are measurably smaller. My understanding is because it does not retain manufacturer's proprietary Metadata. Well is that data just like extra parts in do-it-yourself furniture or are they parts you will regret throwing away? I hate to be saying down the road, "oh, that's what that was for".

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 1
  5. addieleman

addieleman Passionate amateur

Nov 13, 2012
    Netherlands
    Ad Dieleman
    I keep the raw files. I don't see any advantage in converting to DNG and I can only lose information while converting.

6. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David