1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Compare the Nifties ?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Amamba, Nov 2, 2013.

1. Amamba

Amamba TalkEmount All-Pro

Apr 13, 2013
    SE MI
    I wasn't much into the 50mm fixed FL before getting the Nex, so I have limited knowledge of them. For the Nex however they are golden - long enough for portraits, wide enough for many other situations, fast and cheap, with good IQ. So, how would you rate the miscellaneous Nifty Fifties ? Leaving aside the more expensive ones like SEL50f1.8 or Zeiss / Leica. The main criteria being sharpness, color and bokeh, for under $70 on eBay.

I'll start with what I've used so far.

Minolta MD 50/1.7 - cheap ($25-30 or less), only a bit soft at f1.7 (not bad though, especially for the portraits), very sharp by f2.8, killer sharp at f4. Nice, warm Minolta colors. Bokeh is nice wide open, however when slightly stopped down the out of focus highlights become a bit more like polygons. Out of all Nifties I had this is my favorite (didn't use many though) and the benchmark to go by. I ended up with two of them and they both perform equally great, no sample variation.

Canon EF50/1.8 - note that's an AF lens, don't know if it's optically even close to Canon FD. It's very sharp even wide open, the colors tended to be on a colder side, and the bokeh was rather bad, with harsh hexagonal OOF highlights stopped down. I don't have it anymore but I'd rate it 2nd to Minolta as a portrait lens.

Olympus OM 50/3.5 Macro - this was an interesting lens that I used on Canon DSLR, wish I'd kept it. Extremely sharp throughout the aperture range, with pleasing colors, rather compact. Not much of bokeh to speak of. But overall a wickedly sharp lens, would definitely get another if I find it at a decent price.