Changsha

Discussion in 'Street and Documentary' started by ChangshaNotes, Aug 27, 2012.

1. ChangshaNotes

ChangshaNotes Super Moderator

Aug 15, 2012
    China
    Colin
    Some images taken with the 5N in Changsha, Hunan, China.

Soldier

[​IMG]

Take a Break

[​IMG]

Craftsman

[​IMG]

Where to Start

[​IMG]

Wheel

[​IMG]

All photos were taken with the 18-55mm kit except 'Wheel' which was with the 50mmf1.8.

I'm new to photography and would appreciate some C&C.

Thanks.

2. Phoenix

Phoenix TalkEmount Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Melbourne, Australia
    Phoenix Gonzales
    Hi and welcome ChangshaNotes

Thanks for sharing your images,

as for c&c, everyone will have their own opinion, personally I would:

Soldier: I like the image as it is, but I would try to fit in more of his head in the photo to avoid the chopped off headpiece.

Take a break: Maybe I'll try to take the photo at an eye view level instead of an elevated level.

Craftsman: I like the image as it is, but I may try to zoom out a bit and use the rule of thirds on the man and use the rule of leading lines on the staircase and bannister.

Where to start: Streetphotography = Get closer :p

Wheel : Maybe get more of the cart or wheel in focus

you dont have to follow any of it, that's just imho ;) , thanks for sharing

3. Dioptrick

Dioptrick TalkEmount All-Pro

Feb 4, 2012
    New Zealand
    They are all good pics and are quite advanced for someone 'new' to photography. Thanks for sharing ChangshaNotes, and welcome. :)

The only one I'll comment on is the Soldier's head. Try to avoid cropping along anatomical joints in the human form (neck, elbow, wrist, etc.). Also it is generally more pleasing to allow more space toward the side of where a person's face is looking. At the moment there is more room at the left of the soldier's head. Try recomposing that same shot with more room on the right, and see if it makes an improvement.