Capture One Express for Sony

Black Elk

TalkEmount Regular
I have been poking around in this software for a few days and am pleasantly surprised with the features.....especially Adjustments - Styles and Presets. Lots of selections. For me it is easy to navigate once you get used to the layout of the menus.

Any other thoughts on this software?

Thanks much.

bdbits

TalkEmount Hall of Famer
Real Name
Bob
I've been using it for a few years now. I have tried a few others now and then but always end up keeping C1 as my RAW editor.

Hard to argue with free, but upgrading to Pro/Sony has a lot of benefits. You can customize the workspace to your liking, and save different workspaces and switch between them. I think you also need Pro/Sony to get local adjustments (masks and layers), which are a standout feature and incredibly useful, and get moreso with each release. And the advanced color editors, which can also be used to smooth and improve skin tones if you are into portraiture.

I get that it is not everybody's cup of tea, but I really like it. If it wasn't already obvious. :)

Antonio Correia

TalkEmount Regular
I have installed the Capture One 12 after getting the Sony.
I have CC (LR and Photoshop as you know) and I am used to both, mainly to LR but I found CO12 to be more powerful regarding the mastering of colours.
On the other hand I have my own limitations and I am sure if ever I moved to this software instead I would have a difficult learning curve. And... to work with layers one has to go to Photoshop.
Just a few words about this program. I hope you do not mind the little highjacking...
:)

bdbits

TalkEmount Hall of Famer
Real Name
Bob