Showcase Canon LTM 50mm f/1.4

Discussion in 'Adapted Lens Sample Image Showcase' started by WoodWorks, Feb 14, 2014.

1. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David
    I've not been much of a 50mm shooter. The field of view has always just seemed a little too tight to me. But some of the recent posts here with photos shot with fast fifties by Jefenator and DeadBear77, among others, got me intrigued. So when this Canon LTM 50mm f/1.4 showed up on ebay with a "Make An Offer" listing, I made a low-ball bid, and to my surprise, it was accepted.

I've only had it for a week, a week of almost continuous rain here, so I'm just beginning to get to know it. But already I'm smitten.

12509050395_ab1bf94a51_b.
    Mirror Ball.jpg by Holzwerk, on Flickr

Even wide open the center of the frame is sharp as a schoolmarm's tongue.

12509177473_91765c0995_c.
    Mirror Image.jpg by Holzwerk, on Flickr

Though the edges at f/1.4 are definitely soft, I think this has more to do with designed-in field curvature than any flaw in the lens.

12509181923_98ba1b3c3a_b.
    Winter Lavender 1.jpg by Holzwerk, on Flickr

And by f/5.6, it's sharp across the frame.

12509526434_7d83a98689_b.
    Winter Lavender 2.jpg by Holzwerk, on Flickr

In low light, especially with a camera that can handle high ISO, it's a dream.

12509047775_f274e75de2_c.
    Varsity.jpg by Holzwerk, on Flickr

My guess is that it will be stellar for indoor, environmental portraiture. And since it peaks wonderfully and has a great feel to the focus ring, manual focusing is child's play. Though the razor-thin depth-of-field at f/1.4 can be tricky.

But so far, I'm loving this lens, and I think I may be in danger of becoming a "normal" lens convert. :)

• Like Like x 9
  2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim