1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Can anyone help Identify this bird?

Discussion in 'Nature' started by roundball, Jun 15, 2015.

1. roundball

roundball TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Oct 8, 2013
    USA
    Noticed it all fluffed out in the sun for the heat to drive off fleas, etc.
    Has the powerful beak of a seed eater like a Cardinal, Grosbeak, etc.
    It's bigger than the typical small Sparrows, Finches, and so on.
    My best guess is some form of Grosbeak...maybe a Female, or a Juvenile ??

2. Zanner

Zanner TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 19, 2013
    Wisconsin, USA
    Suzanne
    I am by no means a bird expert. But I'm going to go with female house finch or female blue grosbeak. Even though you said it was larger than a finch, the beak and head look very finch-ish to me ;)

Last edited: Jun 17, 2015
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Zanner

Aug 19, 2013
    Wisconsin, USA
    Suzanne
    I changed my answer. Female blue grosbeak looks the closest ;)
    Or even a female indigo bunting

4. roundball

Oct 8, 2013
    USA
    Thanks...and I can understand that...and no authority here for sure.
    I guess the knock-off for me about a Finch has been the fairly long tail with the reverse heart shaped separation at the end of the tail, and the white edges along the tail feathers.
    The more I've been digging into this the more I'm leaning towards a juvenile Rufous-Sided Towhee...I have a resident pair of adults in the yard and this may be one of their fledglings...I need to get a photo of a normal view without the feathers all fluffed out and beak open like that and will post back again as I get better views...thanks

5. roundball

Oct 8, 2013
    USA
    Interesting...am familiar with both of those birds and have no residents around here...will keep you posted if / when I get more info...thanks again

6. Zanner

Aug 19, 2013
    Wisconsin, USA
    Suzanne
    Towhee! I would agree with the long tail like that. Good luck!