1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Best Prime lense

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by FatDadddy, Sep 18, 2013.

1. FatDadddy

FatDadddy TalkEmount Regular

Feb 17, 2013
    Dave
    I am new to photography. I have a Nex6 w PZ,Rokinon fish eye, and Sony zoom....now looking for a mid range prime. I've read people suggesting both the 30 and 35. Suggestions?

2. Fiddler

Fiddler TalkEmount Regular

Mar 8, 2012
    Edinburgh
    Colin
    I don't know about which is best, but the Sigma 30mm is very sharp and as cheap as chips :)

• Like Like x 1
  3. shaolin95

shaolin95 TalkEmount Top Veteran

Jul 3, 2013
    Depends on what you want and your budget. A Sigma 30mm 2.8 is razor sharp and cheap so hard to go wrong there. But I sold it and got the SEL35F1.8 because it is faster, creamier bokeh (although I normally the 50mm for that) and it is stabilized which is great for video.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Bugleone

Bugleone TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 21, 2011
    This is a 'horses for courses' situation........what may be the best lens for one type of work may be not suitable for something else.

What type of images do you want to use it for and how large do you want to print??....For example;...if you are going to make large prints of detailed landscapes then you need a couple of very good lenses (probably legacy glass for a quality 35mm film camera) that will give good sharpness into the corners. However, if you are going to do mainly portraits then the corners are usually not important and a 'softer' drawing lens will be better, etc.

The best tester is probably your 18-55 zoom which is actually a very good lens.....any specific prime must (obviously) offer a superior function to that setting on your zoom, and many legacy lenses don't actually offer much improvement unless they are very good, they just offer perhaps one stop facility over the 18-55.

• Like Like x 1
  5. FatDadddy

Feb 17, 2013
    Dave