1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Best lenses for a new E mount customer?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Danboverholt, Jun 15, 2016.

1. Danboverholt

Danboverholt New to TalkEmount

Jun 15, 2016
    Dan Overholt
    Hey E mount folks, I'm a photographer and videographer for a small nonprofit organization. I am making the switch to the sony a7 system from Pentax due to the continued lack of clean HDMI outs or reasonable video codecs in video mode and I'm very unfamiliar with the e mount lens landscape.

What are some good workhorse first or third party lenses that won't break my entire production budget ($500 USD street price or lower)? I strongly prefer primes but a constant aperture wide/standard zoom would be great.

I appreciate your suggestions in advance!

Thanks,
    Dan

2. Hawkman

Hawkman TalkEmount Top Veteran

Sep 10, 2013
    Virginia, USA
    Steve
    Dan,

Welcome to TalkEMount and to the Sony E-mount system!

Based on your post, I'm going to assume (and I know the risks there) that you have either purchased or are about to purchase a Sony A7 full-frame mirrorless camera body without a kit lens. So, with that in mind, while I do not myself have a full-frame E-mount body - just a couple of APS-C format bodies, including the super a6000 - I do keep up with the various lenses available for both sensor sizes, as all lenses work with all sensors sizes (to varying degrees of capabilities).