• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

Beginning to work with A7/action setup and shooting.

ohaya

TalkEmount Regular
Hi,

As a newbie, I have been continuing to familiarize myself with the A7, and am currently focusing on working with:

- A Sony E 55-250mm lens (the only native "long" lens I have so far) - used this mostly at 210mm.
- An Altson EF-to-Emount adapter + Canon 100-400mm II (I have an MC-11, but the 100-400mm does not do AF-C with it, whereas AF-C does work with the Altson adapter) - used this about 300mm.

Mainly, for testing, I am shooting hummingbirds on our back deck from inside our house through glass door - sorry long story, but this is all I can do).

I am generally shooting 1/3200 - 1/5000, with aperture 5.6 - 7.1 and auto ISO (with max set to 1600, 3200, or 6400).

I am using AF-C, and no stabilization (neither above enable stabilization), shooting manual exposure. I have tried Wide, zone, flexible spot (S, M, and L), and a little spot. Shutter is continuous (I think I also tried Shutter speed priority once, but had too many misses).

We gave 4 feeders, hung such that I have line of sight to them. The closest is is about 7' and the farthest is about 20'. The birds go to the feeders kind of randomly, and sometimes from one feeder to another.

What I have been finding (some of this may be obvious) is:

- the Sony lens focuses faster (I know it is not super fast, but faster than the adapter+Canon)
- the adapter+Canon lens focuses slower - I notice that even if I pre-focus then wait for a bird, then try to press the shutter, the lens will oftentimes go out of focus, then try to focus, slowly. So in the viewfinder, it oftentimes looks like it is out-of-focus in realtime, but when I review the images later, I still see some (maybe 30-50% (a guess) ) in-focus.