• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

As a Sony and Nikon shooter, I still can't justify getting the Nikon Z!

JonathanF2

TalkEmount All-Pro
I had to dump my thoughts out on here, because it's racking my brain! I can't post this in the Nikon forum, because these thoughts are mainly for those familiar with the E mount! I currently still shoot with a Nikon DSLR kit for certain scenarios, mainly for flash and event photography where I much prefer the OVF and better battery conservation for long shooting days. To some extent I'm a bit of a Nikon fanboy (due to almost two decades of use), but I like shooting other systems! Saying that I've been shooting Sony FF mirrorless now for the last two years and use the Sony bodies for most of my portrait and travel shooting.

Now that Nikon released the Z cameras and I've been able to test one out, I honestly think the cameras are great and despite the negative reviews coming out, they actually work very well and I'd love to add one to my kit. Saying that, I still can't justify owning a Z camera!

It mainly comes down to Sony's ability to adapt a variety of lenses to my kit, such as Nikon AF and older manual glass. The Techart Pro adapter also lets me keep my kit compact with Voigtlander M glass when I want to go stealthy and small. My Sigma Art glass can be used across both systems no problem via an adapter.

Also, as much as I like to give into GAS, I'm still practical regarding my needs and I'm having a hard time justifying the Z cameras into my kit. Also since my mirrorless needs tend to drift towards portrait work, the A7III eye-AF is a game changer. My hit rate is definitely around 90-95% in portrait shooting, while I'd gauge DSLR shooting without eye-AF closer to 80-85% due to mis-focus in quick burst.