1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

APS-C lens on fullframe camera

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by manateeman90, Nov 29, 2012.

1. manateeman90

manateeman90 TalkEmount Rookie

Nov 29, 2012
    Hi there,

I am new to this forum and have owned a sony nex-5n for a year with the kit 18-55mm lens and 50mm f1.8 lens. I am a beginner, casual photographer and I enjoy using this camera very much.

I have read a few articles speculating that Sony is in the process of making a FF E-mount NEX camera. Whilst I'm not sure how reliable these rumours are, I was wondering whether current E mount lenses would be compatible with such a camera?

From my limited research I learnt that using lenses made for APS-C sensor format on a FF camera would cause vignetting as well as other problems? I am currently considering to buy the Zeiss 24mm lens and would like to know whether this would be compatible with a FF camera if sony ends up making one

Many thanks

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    I believe that what they would do is sense electronically what lens is attached to the camera and then act accordingly. If a FF lens is attached you use the whole sensor, if a APS-C lens is attached you electronically limit the size of the sensor by switching off the outer edges.

It's been before, though I don't remember who it was, Canon or Nikon.

3. quezra

quezra TalkEmount Top Veteran

Aug 22, 2012
    Sony's A99 does it :)