1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Any Room for a kit 16-50 PZ when I already own a Tamron 18-200? Is a fast prime a better Idea.

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by scottiebumich, Jul 22, 2013.

1. scottiebumich

scottiebumich New to TalkEmount

Jul 22, 2013
    Philadelphia, PA
    Scott B
    I would love to hear everyone(s) opinions and/or experience on having both the kit 16-50 kit and Tamron 18-200 super zoom:

I've been using a 5n for a few years and recently purchased a 6 (integrated flash and EVF was what did it). The Nex 6, which I got off eBay, came with the new 16-50 PZ lens. I've been using the Tamron 18-200 exclusively (~95%) and have 3 high-grade filters for that lens - 62mm.

My thoughts are this, "would I benefit more from keeping the oh-so-pocket-able" 16-50 along with my Tamron and get a step-up ring for the filters or from selling the 16-50 PZ and using that money for a fast prime? I take my camera everywhere I go (mostly) and just enjoy taking photos. However I can see the benefits of having a smaller zoom lens as well as a fast prime. It's hard to give up the small form of the kit lens, but it's also very tempting to get a fast prime to improve low-light shots. I live in down town Philly and the Tamron just gives poor Bar / indoor shots (damn flash is clipped by tip of lens). I would want the prime to be 1.8 and versatile enough to serve as a walking around lens and be fairly small in size.

I'm very conflicted and would love some feedback/suggestions. Also, I have MANY hobbies and I am not looking to start a large collection of lenses so this is more of an either-or sort of decision.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Thanks,
    Scott

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    Do you need the smaller size package, or does the 18-200 fit the bill? If you're happy with the IQ you're getting with the 18-200 then get a fast prime.