1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Another "which lens" question

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Jazzer, Apr 13, 2013.

1. Jazzer

Jazzer TalkEmount Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    New York
    Larry
    As I mentioned in another thread, I just received my new NEX 6. I have the kit power zoom and the 55-210. I also ordered and should be receiving shortly the Sigma 2 lens kit from B&H. I wasn't completely sure if the Sigmas made sense to purchase yet, but as the new versions are now out, I figured I would order them while still in stock and I can return them (I don't intend to use them until I am certain that I intend to keep them if I like them) if I decide a different lens makes more sense at this point.

Here is the dilemma. I am a relative newbie with interchangeable lenses. I will be going on little vacation in about a week to Florida and would like to be able to shoot in a variety of conditions, from inside museums, aquariums, etc. to outdoors at various focal lengths. At the same time, I will need some time using the camera to get a good sense of what my primary shooting preferences are. I don't want to wind up with a bunch of lenses that I won't use. If I weren't going to be away, I might wait and examine my usage of the 16-50 and 55-210 over time and fill in the gaps based on the deficiencies I find. I generally like to take things slow and buy the right thing the first time, to the extent possible. However, I suspect I will need something at least a little faster than these to take decent indoor shots without a flash.

So, my question is: what would you recommend under the circumstances? (1) Just go with the 16-50 and 55-210 and don't worry about whether they will be fast enough. Buy additional lenses later? (2) Keep the Sigmas and use them, hoping they will be fast enough for any indoor shots? (3) Buy (a) a SEL 50mm/1.8 or (b) SEL 35mm/1.8 and return the Sigmas? or (4) any other suggestions?

Thanks!