• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

Advise for Adapted lens

izzikiorage

TalkEmount Veteran
Hi Guys

I've been using adapted lenses on my NEX6 for a couple of months now. I have 3 main lenses that I'm using.

1. Sigma zoom KII - 70-210 f/4.5
2. Minolta Rokkor 50mm f/1.4
3. Panagor 28mm f/2.8

Need some advise on using these in the best way. I seem to get blurry shots with all of them even when I'm pretty sure i'm nailing the focus. I have focus peaking on, with a red tint. I rarely use the zoom view since that makes the image very choppy and even more hard to focus. I might be holding the lenses wrong and blurring them due to motion on pressing the shutter. Some of my pet gripes are

Zoom KII - blurry, washed out, low contrast shots
Rokkor - Out of focus shots, seems that using it at f/1.4 is almost impossible

As of now not really sure what I should be doing to get better shots, or is it just a limitation of these lenses. Need advise, tips and tricks, guidelines on how to best use Adapted lenses

linking some images

16670026616_14b0eabb38_c.jpg
   ---            

One with the heavens by Amlan Mathur, on Flickr

Blurry at 1:1, no details on the clouds. Had to PP a lot to get the colors. Shot with zoom KII

16196467324_c4c4063961_c.jpg
   ---            

Boy's toys by Amlan Mathur, on Flickr

Not sure where I got the point of focus. Seems blurry, has purple fringing.

davect01

Super Moderator
Real Name
Dave
1- Some older lenses are just blurry. Some are made to lower standards and some are just worn out.

2- Using 1.4 is going to be tough under the best of circumstances. Don't even think about it for moving subjects.
If you are using 1.4, use it on a stationary object and a tripod. Zoom magnification is an amazing tool for these.