1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Advices for a good GND Filter?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by 917K, Aug 30, 2015.

1. 917K

917K TalkEmount Rookie

Aug 13, 2014
    Dear TalkEmount gurus :bowdown:,

I need some advice for a good GND filter:
    I would like to use it especially for shooting on mountains, to minimize the effect of overexposed clouds in the sky, and consequently underexposed ground, so if I don't mistake from what I read the best choice will be a 0.9 soft GND, can you confirm?

Reading some guides/reviews I've figured out that the Lee 100mm system can be a nice choice; so in this moment I'm considering to buy one of those; but...
    since i'm not a pro but rather a huge noob, as you can imagine, I don't want to spend a lot of money in something that in this moment I don't even know if I will able to use it correctly.

(And also if I've to be honest I can understand the price for the filter itself, but not the price of the holder and the wide angle adapter ring!! ...after all is a piece of threaded aluminum...)

Since I wasn't able to find used one at a good price, I looked for an economical alternative.
    Searching a bit I ran into Cokin and the Formatt Hitech systems, but the first one from what I read it does not seem to be good as the Lee, and the cost of the second ones is comparable with the Lee; so than I've found this Lee compatible holder that honestly it doesn't conviced me very much.. but for a beginner like me can be an acceptable choice.

So what do think about the Lee 0,9GND+holder linked above?
    Any other advice?

Thank you very much in advance to everyone :bowdown:

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim