1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Advice needed on using legacy "Tamron LD XR 28-200 mm F/3.8-5.6" on NEX-5R

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by pvp_victor, Nov 26, 2013.

1. pvp_victor

pvp_victor TalkEmount Regular

Nov 24, 2013
    bangalore, india
    Vijay
    Hi friends,

This is my first post in this forum. So pardon me if there are mistakes.

Upgrading from a prosumer P&S, I acquired a Sony NEX-5RL (with 16-50mm lens), about 2 months back. I’ve also added a Canon FD lenses 50mm F/1.4 SSC and 28mm F/3.5 and also a Canon FD mount Carl Zeiss Jena (CZJ) 80-200mm F/4.5-5.6, all in breech lock. In fact the possibility of playing a lot with legacy MF lenses was a major decision maker towards the NEX :biggrin:

I shoot JPEG 99% times and no video yet in NEX. I am still learning and at about 1200 plus picture count. As I’m still trying to locate a compact tripod, most of my shots are hand-held and I am reasonably decent with HH shots down to 1/25 s speed.

My concern is about the CZJ zoom. About 70% times, I am not happy with this lens for objects at beyond 50feet distance. Moreover, it suffers from purple fringing, the colors are bit off at low light, it is low on contrast and the photos wear a painted look. So recently started testing the RAW/ARW waters using Sony's IDC software, but am not finding significant differences (may be because of my lack of knowledge in that software). May be I need the tripod or perhaps the CZJ doesn't have the resolving power with respect to modern pixel peeping?