Advice for travel

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Peeam, Feb 27, 2014.

1. Peeam

Peeam TalkEmount Rookie

Jan 28, 2014
    As a new user of Nex-3N, I need some guidance regarding an upcoming trip where I expect to take a lot of landscape shots. As a former point and shoot camera user, I have no experience of traveling with just a prime lens. I am planning to take the sony kit lens (18-55 mm) and a legacy lens (28 mm, f/2.8) for Pentax K mount. I think that the 2 should be enough and there is no need to carry my 75-205 mm F/3.8 zoom lens as it is big and bulky. The small form factor for the kit lens just makes it the perfect size for travel.

I have attached a couple of pictures taken with the legacy lens and what it looks like on the camera.

Thanks

PeeAm

Attached Files:

2. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
    So, what is your question?

3. mattia

mattia TalkEmount Regular

Dec 13, 2013
    If the question (which isn't entirely clear) is about tips for landscape shooting, I guess that mostly depends on your expectation. For 'optimal' shooting you'd want a tripod, and a lens that's sharper corner to corner, and preferably a little wider (for my taste) than the kit lens. Then again, it also depends on your destination. Some landscapes work best with widangle, some with a normal FoV, some with a telephoto lens. Depends on your personal taste.

As an example - my current 'optimal' landscape rig is an A7r with the 35/2.8, which is very sharp indeed wide open. But it's not very wide, so I will take overlapping shots and stitch them to get the result I want. I actually prefer this for a lot of vistas, because the 'ultrawide' perspective requires there to be something interesting in the foreground, and a more moderate wideangle or even normal (55/1.8 mounted and stitched exposures) perspective can yield a view that has greater visual impact. Sometimes. But not always.

• Like Like x 1
  4. WoodWorks