Adapted Voigtlander 40mm 1.4 versus the new Sony35mm 1.8?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Sabre36, Dec 20, 2012.

1. Sabre36

Sabre36 TalkEmount Regular

Dec 1, 2012
    I am fairly new to the Nex world having purchased a Nex-7 and a Sony 10-18 f1.8 two months ago. I also adapted some Minolta MD lenses I had: Rokkor 28mm 2.8 and Rokkor 50mm 1.7. These lenses are nicely built, especially compared to the 10-18mm zoom. I have been eyeing a Voigtlander 40mm 1.4 lens as a walk-around lens. I generally don't mind manual focusing but have certainly missed a few shots, as to be expected. Light sensitivity is important to me because I hate using a flash.

Now that the Sony 35 1.8 is finally out this week, I am curious about the difference in IQ between the non-OSS, non-AF, theoretically higher-end Voigtlander versus the Sony 35mm which has decent specifications and one good review so far. I have never used an Voigtlander lens so I making an assumption that is a poor-man's Zeiss. For more or less the same price ( ~$400 used for Voigtlander, $450 Sony) which would you buy? I am torn by the AF/OSS convenience of the Sony 35mm versus the build and perhaps better IQ of the Voigtlander.

Advice and opinions welcome.

2. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    answer yourself

I think you gave the answer, or at least the right question. "I am torn by the AF/OSS convenience of the Sony 35mm versus the build and perhaps better IQ of the Voigtlander." Is auto focus that important to you?

While I personally have never owned a Voigtlander, I have yet to see any negative pictures/opinions from a fully functional one.
  3. RalllyFan

RalllyFan TalkEmount Regular

Dec 2, 2012
    I love my Voigtlander 35mm, and I have read a lot of good things about the 40mm as well. But I have also heard a lot of good things about the Sony, too, and I doubt either would be a bad choice.