1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Adapted lens question

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by mikefromli, Jan 13, 2015.

1. mikefromli

mikefromli TalkEmount Regular

Dec 29, 2014
    Long Island, NY USA
    Michael
    Ok I am still new with the a6000 loving it so far got my self some primes (20mm with the adaptors and 35mm Sony's) and they are doing great. I am debating for my first foray into adapted would be a 50mm (75? equivalent) for a portrait lens or a macro since manual focus would be appropriate for the task any suggestion of which system to adapt? Cannon(meta) or Minolta?

Also all things being equal is there a reason for an adapted 35mm if I already have the sel3518? artistic differences? or is there even better glass or do people get them for the geek factor (and that their cheap)

Mike

2. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    Canons are quite cheap for their quality. A fast manual fifty is nice to have and they are cheap. I think that very wide legacy lenses aren't very cost effective and duplicating AF lenses you already own won't be very cost effective either (legacy 35mm aren't probably even as fast). One possibility is a 50mm/2.8 macro if you aren't into thin depth of field. Basically legacy lenses from 28mm to 135mm are pretty cheap and prices increase moderately to 300mm (quality ones but not ultra fast can be had for 250 €) and more steeply after that. On the wide end prices rise quite rapidly below 24mm.

(I purchased today Yashica ML 28mm, Super Danubia 28mm/28mm and Contax 137 MA for 45.50 € today).

3. eno789

eno789 TalkEmount Top Veteran

Jan 1, 2012
    NoCal, USA
    Brian
    Some was asking me about recommendations of affordable adapted lens for A6000 on G+, here's my answer:

* I'm limiting my recommendations to 35mm SLR lenses. As rangerfinder ones are usually more expensive.