adapted lens help

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by fundio, May 6, 2013.

1. fundio

fundio TalkEmount Rookie

Apr 10, 2013
    I know this has been beaten to death but i just want to clarify before i make any purchases of any lenses.

My question is I'm looking for a decent wide angle lens. The rokinon 8mm is the one in particular but i want to know what mounts will get the black edges because of the sensor size. Can i use m43 like Olympus or any other brand without the black edges? Like the c mount from what i have read are too small for the sensor. Is this correct? I have a few Minolta MD mount lenses and love the manual focusing and for the price they were great to start with.

Sorry for the basic questions I'm new to photography and am getting hooked and i do not want expensive trial and errors.

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    Most, if not all m43 lenses will vignette on the NEX I believe. Stick with dslr or rangefinder lenses and you should be good to go (with a couple of weird exceptions).

3. fundio

fundio TalkEmount Rookie

Apr 10, 2013
    Thank you for that. That is what i understood from what i read. Thanks for the confirmation. Another question. i have a Minolta 24mm i have seen some ads that say ultra wide 24mm. A 24mm is going to be a 24mm regardless correct?

4. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David
    I think most people would agree that a rangefinder camera is best represented by the classic Leicas. Their salient features include an optical viewfinder that doesn't provide a view through the lens, like in an SLR. There are rangefinder lenses available that can be used (with an adapter) on NEXes from Leica, Zeiss, Voigtländer, and some others, and many of them are pretty spendy.