1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

A7?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by CWL, Feb 13, 2015.

1. CWL

CWL TalkEmount Regular

Jun 16, 2012
    Cumbria UK
    Chee
    Hi All

I am after some advice to determine if the A7 is the right camera for me. I love using my C3 with a selection kit and old manual focus lenses.

I'd purchased a Canon 650d as an upgrade a while back and never really bonded with it. Image quality is better but in hindsight, not big enough difference to the C3 to warrant the purchase.

I'm only a novice and shoot in JPEG and use Snapseed for PP. I considered buying the Canon 6d but the thought of old manual focus lenses is pulling towards the A7. So my question, would the A7 be wasted on me? I will eventually shoot RAW when I find the time to learn and process the image.

Many thanks in advance.

2. SpaceManSpiff

SpaceManSpiff TalkEmount Top Veteran

Dec 13, 2013
    Tucson, AZ
    Eric
    Hey Chee,
    I have a NEX6 and really enjoy the process of using manual lenses. I have often thought about making the leap to the A7 but haven't for monetary reasons.

What don't you like about the C3?

Why do you think you didn't bond with the 650d (t4i)? What don't you like about it?

If you eventually think you will eventually shoot in RAW spend some time PP, and wouldn't mind the bigger form factor of the A7 and can live without the convenience of a pop-up flash...then my initial response would be to go for it. I looked at your flickr stream and you have good stuff on there.

3. CWL

CWL TalkEmount Regular

Jun 16, 2012
    Cumbria UK
    Chee
    Thanks Eric

I love the C3 but looking to upgrade in a pursuit of better image quality.