• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

A7 series tethering speeds

Brandon Jackson

TalkEmount Rookie
All, I'm new to the Sony A7 ecosystem as I recently picked up an A7R II. Part of what I shoot are headshots and for the past few years I've shot tethered during my shoots so the client(s) can see the images as I shoot. This has been a great way to work giving instant feedback and it helps coach the subject. When I have been using my Olympus EM1 (both mki and mkii) the images show nearly instantly, like .5 second or less even when shooting raw. Now granted the images are much smaller (20mp) and shooting raw makes a ~17 MB file and the EM1 mkii has USB 3 so this isn't unexpected. I find that shooting tethered with the A7rII that it takes ~5 seconds so see an image. Of course it runs a slower USB2 port and it has to transfer a 42MB file. Even jpegs are only slightly less time to transfer as I think the camera spends a lot of time having to process all that image data..

So long story but my question is does anyone have experience with tethering speeds on an A7II or the III as well as the A7RIII? I'm going to get a second body this month and was thinking an A7II might be the perfect backup/headshot camera since I don't need 40+ mp for headshots and the smaller file size might make for faster tethering.

Thank in advance for any thoughts here,

Brandon

SpecFoto

TalkEmount Regular
Real Name
Jim