A6000 Newbie

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by tagz, Nov 29, 2014.

1. tagz

tagz New to TalkEmount

Nov 29, 2014
    Hi everyone,

I have been using my iPhone(s) as my only camera the past few years (Prior to that, I had a few point and shoot cameras).
    So, I finally decided to upgrade to the world of mirrorless cameras (after debating between mirrorless and DSLR) :)

I just ordered a a6000 with 16-50 lens, 55-210 lens, soft case and a 64gb SDHC card for $750. I think it is a good deal.

Have been trying to browse the forum to see the different lenses people have been using with a6000, but there are so many and it is quite overwhelming as I am just getting started.
    My reason for buying was that we had our first little one a month ago and I wanted more than the iPhone camera to take good pictures of my baby. Since the 55-210 lens was actually $350 and as a part of the thanksgiving deal, the price was reduced to $150 (when bundled with the camera), I ordered it.

Now, I am a little concerned as I do not see anyone speaking about this lens. Is this a bad lens or not worth it?

Please help! Also, sorry if my past is too long.. will try to keep it short next time :)

--Tagz

2. christian

christian TalkEmount Veteran

Apr 12, 2014
    Boston MA
    Welcome to the forum Tagz! This is a fabulous forum, it's been very useful and very friendly with me, at least! LOL

I think you chose a very nice combo to start with. Then you'll see you'll want soon more lenses! Just like all of us HA HA
    At least those 2 lenses cover pretty much all the focal ranges you want. They're not the best ones but good values for their price.

Here are my sample pictures with the 16-50mm kit lens (the macros are with extension tubes though, you'll see in the text), that'll give you an idea :

http://ilovehatephoto.com/2014/09/23/how-to-shoot-levitation-photography/
    http://ilovehatephoto.com/2014/08/11/techniques-the-silhouetted-shot/