A6000 and YN560IV remote triggering issues

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by soopadoopa, Jun 10, 2015.

1. soopadoopa

soopadoopa TalkEmount Regular

Jun 3, 2015
    greetings, noob here. i'm having trouble triggering the YN560IV with my RF603II (canon model) on my A6000. i've read thru several threads here and on dpreview so here's what i can tell you about my issue and hopefully someone can point out my error.

the 603 is paired with the 560 and will fire a test flash via the top button while mounted on camera (rf603 mode, ch1 for both, blue light winks, etc). the 560 will fire when mounted on camera. i've scraped the underside of the hotshoe rails enough to see plenty of bare metal.

camera is currently set to fill flash and 560 is set to M , tho i don't know if this matters. i'm assuming that what's supposed to happen is that i push the 'take picture' button on the camera and the flash is supposed to fire according to whatever settings i've entered via it's onboard controls. that's what happens when the 560 is on camera.

i've also tried both 603s (shipped as a pair) with the same results. i'm currently sliding my trigger in and out of my shoe like a technopervert but so far no joy.

so, if anyone has any insight, that'd be spectacular. thanks.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
  2. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    RF 603 isn't compatible with Sony cameras. RF 603 II is. The previous can be modified to be usable.

3. soopadoopa

Jun 3, 2015
    thanks. it is the II; i just used the numeral 2 - formatting mistake. apologies...

4. metalmania

metalmania TalkEmount Regular

Dec 3, 2014
    USA
    I am not sure if set to fill flash will work. Besides that, you need to check your hot shoe. Grind the red portion with a metal object. I just used a Swiss Army knife for a few seconds and mission accomplished. Picture is from a dpreview thread.

xq0ldd0.

5. soopadoopa

Jun 3, 2015