1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

18-200LE at a playground

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by quezra, Aug 22, 2012.

1. quezra

quezra TalkEmount Top Veteran

Aug 22, 2012
    Hi guys,

I'm new to amateur photography and was wondering if people could help me out with some questions

I took the attached shot at a playground with my new 18-200 LE which I bought before I knew how to use it. It was taken at 1/320 f/6.3 ISO200 according to the properties (actually it was iAuto I think) I was wondering is the bokeh like that because of hand-shake or something else about outdoors? All were taken handheld (not sure if that's a good idea at 200mm?). What could I do to improve it?

Also, would love to hear any other tricks for shooting at tele distances... I'm going on safari at the end of the year and want to learn how to do it "right"

Thanks

2. lapdog99

lapdog99 TalkEmount Veteran

Sep 3, 2011
    Colorado
    Learn to shoot in Aperture mode. Use a large aperture value like 4.0 to shorten depth of field and improve the speed set by the camera, which is helpful for using a telephoto lens. The intelligent automatic mode will deliver good exposure results,but you won't learn
    anything about the relationship of aperture setting, shutterspeed and ISO settings.

3. dbmiller

dbmiller TalkEmount Top Veteran

Mar 2, 2012
    New England
    Not quite sure what you are asking here. What do you think is wrong with the image? Or more importantly, what were you expecting?

If you had camera shake, the whole picture would be out of focus, so I am guessing that you are asking why the background looks blurred?

Depth of Field is the concept of how much of your image will appear in focus. It depends on...

• The focal length of the lens (How much you have zoomed in with the 18-200 - In this case 200mm)
    • The size of the imaging area (The NEX sensor in this case)
    • The aperture used (f6.3)