1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

16mm-50mm Kit lens vs 16mm F2.8 pancake

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by silvetti, Aug 26, 2013.

1. silvetti

silvetti New to TalkEmount

Aug 26, 2013
    Hey guys,

Newbie here, so if my questions is stupid don't kill me.
    Tried googling this but still not quite sure.

The PZ kit lense 16-50 has on the 16mm option a 83 degree angle, the 16mm F2.8 pancake has the same angle (on the specs).

Does this mean that it would take more or less the same photos ? I mean in terms of wideness (not image quality).

2. lowbone

lowbone TalkEmount Regular

Oct 21, 2012
    If I understand your question the answer is yes. 16mm is 16mm whether it is on a zoom or a fixed lens

3. silvetti

Aug 26, 2013
    So with each of them I can take the same wide-angle photos ?

4. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    Yes. They even have same maximum aperture.

5. silvetti

Aug 26, 2013
    Thank you for the clarification :)

6. shaolin95

shaolin95 TalkEmount Top Veteran

Jul 3, 2013
    The 1650 is F3.5 the SEL16F28 is 2.8 :)

I love the SEL16 but only when using it with the UWA and Fisheye...just an awesome combo and cheap too. It creates very interesting perspectives and compositions for me.

7. Fiddler

Fiddler TalkEmount Regular

Mar 8, 2012
    Edinburgh
    Colin
    I just got hold of the UWA, and it's better than I expected and fun to use.

Attached Files:

• UWA.
      UWA.jpg
      File size:
      110.9 KB
      Views:
  8. shaolin95

shaolin95 TalkEmount Top Veteran

Jul 3, 2013
    Yes indeed. I got the Fisheye not thinking I would use it much but it is also awesome. Just a superb addition to my collection and I highly recommend them. :)

Yeah that is the type of shot I love with this thing.

9. Fiddler

Fiddler TalkEmount Regular

Mar 8, 2012
    Edinburgh
    Colin
    Yeah, I'm looking for the Fisheye now!

10. slothead

slothead TalkEmount Top Veteran

Mar 1, 2015